We welcome faculty membership from all disciplines in the medical school as well as affiliate faculty members from relevant disciplines at the university and other institutions. Faculty should be able to demonstrate a serious interest and commitment to the rigorous investigation of consciousness or related fields of inquiry.

Active CCS faculty currently represent the fields of neuroscience, anesthesiology, neurology, psychiatry, neurosurgery, biomedical engineering and physics. Affiliate faculty members currently represent the fields of philosophy, psychology and music.

Core CCS Faculty
Jimo Borjigin, PhD Molecular & Integrative Physiology, Neuroscience Graduate Program
Cynthia Chestek, PhD Biomedical Engineering
Kamran Diba, PhD Anesthesiology, Neuroscience Graduate Program
Viviane Hambrecht-Wiedbusch, PhD Anesthesiology
Richard Harris, PhD Anesthesiology, Neuroscience Graduate Program
Zirui Huang, PhD Anesthesiology
Anthony Hudetz, DMB, PhD Anesthesiology, Neuroscience Graduate Program
UnCheol Lee, PhD Anesthesiology
Duan Li, PhD Anesthesiology
George A. Mashour, MD, PhD Anesthesiology, Neuroscience Graduate Program
Dinesh Pal, PhD Anesthesiology
Parag Patil, MD, PhD Neurosurgery, Neuroscience Graduate Program
Sekhar Sripada, PhD Psychiatry and Philosophy
Giancarlo Vanini, MD Anesthesiology
Phil Vlisides, MD Anesthesiology
Affiliate CCS Faculty & Trainees – Internal
J. Wayne Aldridge, PhD Psychology
Brandon Aragona, PhD Psychology
Sara Aton, PhD Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
Jessica Bentley, MD Neurosurgery
Joshua Berke, PhD Psychology, Neuroscience, Biomedical Engineering
Ron Chervin, MD Neurology
Wayne Cornblath, MD Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences, Neurology
Jane Huggins, PhD Biomedical Engineering
Ellen Janke, MD Anesthesiology
Benjamin Kuipers, PhD Computer Science and Engineering
Ramesh Kushwaha, PhD Neurology
Melvin Mcinnis, MD Psychiatry
Rob Pace, MD Neurology
Aditya Pandey, MD Neurosurgery
Ed Sarath, PhD Music
Linda Selwa, MD Neurology
Q. Afifa Shamim-Uzzaman, MD Internal Medicine & General Medicine
Monica Starkman, MD Psychiatry
Vijay Tarnal, MD Anesthesiology
Stephan Taylor, MD Psychiatry
David Williams, PhD Anesthesiology
James Woods, PhD Pharmacology
Affiliated CCS Faculty & Trainees – External
Michael Avidan, MBBCh Anesthesiology, Washington University
Stefanie Blain-Moraes, PhD Biomedical Engineering, McGill University, Montreal
Don Degracia, PhD Physiology, Wayne State University
Max Kelz, MD, PhD Anesthesiology, University of Pennsylvania
Eric LaRock, PhD Philosophy, Oakland University
David Liley, PhD Psychiatry & Psychology, Statistical Physics, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
Andrew McKinstry-Wu, MD Anesthesiology, University of Pennsylvania
Matthew Owen, PhD Tiny Blue Dot Consciousness Studies, Gonzaga University
Ben Palanca, MD, PhD Anesthesiology, Washington University
Alex Proekt, MD, PhD Anesthesiology, University of Pennsylvania
Brian Silverstein, BA Translational Neuroscience Program, Wayne State University